Taking risks in participating in Discussion forums

I guess that you know it: almost all of those active in Discussion forums or Web-forums on the internet hide their identity by using nicknames or signatures that should be untrackable. From their hide-and-seek-places they, sometimes, could be aggressively rude, saying almost whatever comes up in their minds.
Just as an example: After assisting THAI Airways International (TG) for about forty years I tried to provide one of its Discussion forums with some of my thoughts. One of those thoughts is about the importance giving full feedback to pilot candidates or pilot trainee candidates, particularly those who were screened out and who did not make it all the way. They could very well learn something about their failures during the selection process. And I admit that I also have some doubts regarding the selection consultant company that THAI has hired during the last two years.
But things I have on my mind are not always appreciated by some persons. So they hide by using signatures that do not show who they are and they even prefer to write in Thai language, making it difficult for me to understand. And some guy is impudent and rude to me writing as follows in the Discussion Forum (translated):
”He (Gordon) is bad, like an old man, stubborn so he was expelled from TG because they know that he’s not good. When TG stops hiring him, then he tried bring the chaos to the process by using failed candidates and discredit to the present SIAP, trying to destroy TG, even the Scandinavian, the former organization…….What is his motivation, he is only want to demolish everything, doesn’t want to see anyone better than him.”
Fact is that I was not expelled. Fact is that I was kindly asked to serve as the Senior Advisor to the new consultant company and to the manager for the pilot recruitment department. Fact is that I accepted these positions, but fact is that the new consultant company apparently did not want my services. And, sorry, but fact is that I have no power to destroy an airline company, nor a Scandinavian consultant company. I am just a simple man with thoughts that I like to share and I am not afraid of entering discussions.
But there are always risks in taking part in an open Discussion Forum. There are always people that have very tender toes and they do not want me to tread on them. So, suddenly, I am the target for aggressive attacks. But this is the risk you have to take when participating in Discussion forums on the Internet.

1 tanke på “Taking risks in participating in Discussion forums

  1. Hans,
    ett alldeles utmärkt ämne, men en sann GGG går ju inte i försvarsställning 🙂 Det är som bekant aldrig vårt fel. Nånsin!

    Tack för din kommentar på Griniga Gamla Gubbar. Vi måste förstås be om ursäkt att det tog ett tag att hitta dig. I gengäld så har vi beslutat att bjuda in dig som provbloggare hos oss.

    Där kan ju möjligen ett alias vara på sin plats. Jag tror att såväl ton som stil har framgått. Åsikter måste inte vara välgrundade, bara välhävdade.

    Mejladress medföljer kommentaren antar jag.

Lämna en kommentar